After years of being in the cine industry, legendary actor Kamal Haasan finally stepped into politics and formed his own party Makkal Needhi Maiyam (MNM).

The actor who contested at Kovai South was initially leading during the vote counting. However, loses the seat to Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) Vanathi Sreenivasan with just 1,500 votes difference.

A post shared by IBC Tamil (@ibctamil)

Besides Kamal, other Kollywood artists such as Kushboo and Seeman have also lost their seats.

Actor Sarathkumar's All India Samathuva Makkal Katchi (AISMK) and Vijayakanth's Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) have also failed to win any seats in the election.