Sattva, Rajas, Tamas: The Three 'Gunas' Of Nature

  • 29 Jan 2020

Nizha Periaswamy

Yoga is often misunderstood as being only about exercie, and breathing or meditation. 

In fact, yoga is a spiritual development to train the body and mind to self-observe and become aware of its own nature. According to the yoga philosophy, every human being is influenced by certain 'gunas' or quality of reality that can affect our psychological, emotional and energetic states. 

There are 3 'gunas' present in all objects, with one quality always being more dominant than the others. The 3 gunas as Sattva (purity), Rajas (action), and Tamas (destruction). 

Now let's look at the characteristics of the 3 gunas and how they can play their roles.


Sattva is the quality of goodness, happiness, gratification, nobility, and serenity. It manifests the character of being pure and forgiving. Generally, sattva can be increased in many ways, one of its being diet practices. 

Eating sattvic food, such as fresh fruits and vegetables, whole grains and legumes, fresh and pure food items which grow above ground, will provide positive energy. 

Practising yoga, mixing with positive people, doing activities that make us happy can also increase the sattvic elements in our minds and body.


Rajas is a quality of desire, action, vigour and motion. It manifests in attachment, longing for satisfaction and pleasure. 

One can reduce rajasic elements by avoiding fried and spicy food, food that are high in additives and stimulants, such as caffeine. Other ways include avoiding over-exercise, overwork, excessive thinking and accummulating material goods. 


Tamas is manifested as contamination, laziness, and darkness. It is a consequence of ignorance. Tamasic elements can be reduced by avoiding oversleeping, overeating, inactivity, dullness, and passivity.

Tamasic food include heavy meats that are spoiled, chemically treated, processed, or refined.

According to teh Bhagavadgita, a sattvic person attains higher worlds upon death, while his rajasic and tamasic counterparts remain in the middle worlds and the lowest regions, respectively. 

A sattvic person is then reborn as a pious person, or in a pious family, while a rajas will be reborn in a family which is attached to actions. A tamas, meanwhile, will be among the ignorant and deluded. 

All the 3 gunas are also said to influence, faith, resolve, professional choices, and nature of relationships. 

Nizha Periaswamy is a yoga instructor and freelance writer.

Photo source: Pixabay

Suggested Articles

The-7-Major-Chakras-And-The-Symptoms-Of-Their-Blockage Lifestyle
  • 26 Oct 2020

The 7 Major Chakras And The Symptoms Of Their Blockage

The imbalance of chakras in our body can cause various physical and mental conditions. Here's how to identify them...

Enjoy-the-Thrills-and-Chills-With-Turn-On-The-Screams-on-Astro Entertainment
  • 22 Oct 2020

Enjoy the Thrills and Chills With ‘Turn On The Screams’ on Astro

Enjoy the best Hollywood, Asian and local thrillers with ‘Turn On The Screams’ on Astro First, Astro Best, On Demand Store and Astro GO, this October!

Vinmeen-HD-Brings-You-Malaysia-s-First-Tamil-Pet-Series-A-Cooking-Show-With-a-Difference-in-November Entertainment
  • 20 Oct 2020

Vinmeen HD Brings You Malaysia's First Tamil Pet Series & A Cooking Show With a Difference, in November

Malaysia's first Tamil pet series, and a cooking show with a difference are new HD contents that await Tamil viewers in November, on Vinmeen HD (CH 231). 

Break-Those-Bad-Lifestyle-Habits-and-Start-Living-Healthy Lifestyle
  • 20 Oct 2020

Break Those 'Bad Lifestyle Habits' and Start Living Healthy

Put your willpower to the test with these four basic habits for a healthy lifestyles that everyone should diligently practice...

The-Health-Benefits-of-Tulasi Lifestyle
  • 19 Oct 2020

The Health Benefits of Tulasi

Tulasi is the “Queen of Herbs” and the most sacred herb in India! These are the benefits of the herbal plant...

Why-Navarathri-is-Celebrated-for-Nine-Days Lifestyle
  • 17 Oct 2020

Why Navarathri is Celebrated for Nine Days?

What do these 9 days signify? Well, that's why you are here, to find the answers!