Finally, the second mayor of Indian descent - Datuk A Rajendran took his oath of office and was sworn in as Penang Island's fourth mayor.

Speaking about his appointment, Datuk A Rajendran emerged as the second mayor of Indian descent to appoint in more than 60 years after DS Ramanathan - the former Labour Party of Malaya chairman and teacher who was elected as mayor in 1958.

The 60-year-old dedicated man has taken up the mantle from Datuk Yew Tung Seang who retired last month after his service since 2018.

Rajendran, who has been with the council for over 30 years and served as the council secretary since January of last year. It appears that Penang's capital, George Town, was granted city status through a royal charter by Queen Elizabeth II on January 1, 1957. However, it was not officially recognized by Putrajaya, the federal administrative center of Malaysia, until the year 2020.

Image Credit / Source: Majlis Bandaraya Pulau Pinang - MBPP , ">David Marshell