Datuk A Rajendran emerged as the second mayor of Indian descent to be appointed in more than 60 years after DS Ramanathan - the former Labour Party of Malaya chairman and teacher who was elected as mayor in 1958.

Having said that, Rajendran will be taking over from Datuk Yew Tung Seang as the mayor of an undisclosed council effective May 5. Speaking about his service, he previously served as the Penang Island City Council (MBPP) secretary and has extensive experience in local governance. As the fourth lord mayor since George Town regained city status in 2020, he will play a prominent role in the development and management of Penang Island.

Rajendran, who has been with the council for over 30 years and served as the council secretary since January of last year. It appears that Penang's capital, George Town, was granted city status through a royal charter by Queen Elizabeth II on January 1, 1957. However, it was not officially recognized by Putrajaya, the federal administrative center of Malaysia, until the year 2020.

Image Credit & Source: The Star