A total of 298 schools in the Petaling district in Selangor have been ordered to close for two weeks, starting today.

In a statement, the Education Ministry (MOE) said the closure of schools in three municipilaties under the Petaling district, namely Petaling Jaya, Shah Alam, and Subang Jaya, will last until Oct 25, after the district's categorization as COVID-19 red zone.

According to the Health Ministry's classification, an area with more than 40 active COVID-19 cases is a red zone.

"The closure involves a total of 298 primary and secondary schools under the ministry, as well as vocational and private schools registered with the ministry.

"The list of affected schools will be updated from time to time on the ministry’s website at www.moe.gov.my, as well as on the ministry's official social media platforms," read the statement released yesterday.

The statement added that further closure of schools in other areas, if needed, will be notified via the ministry's website.

You can view the statement in full, and list of schools affected by the closure at www.moe.gov.my.

Photo source: Astro Awani