Six districts in Selangor will be placed under the Movement Control Order (MCO) from Thursday, to contain the high number of COVID-19 cases there.

Senior minister (security cluster) Ismail Sabri Yaakob, in a press conference this evening, said the districts involved are Hulu Langat, Petaling, Gombak, Klang, Kuala Langat, and Sepang.

The MCO 3.0 will be in force for two weeks, beginning May 6 (Thursday) to May 17, 2021.

According to Ismail, cross-district travel will be prohibited in locations placed under MCO. The inter-state travel ban remains in force.

Three other districts, namely Kuala Selangor, Sabak Bernam and Hulu Selangor, will remain under the Conditional MCO (CMCO), Ismail added.

As of Tuesday afternoon, Malaysia recorded 3,120 new COVID-19 cases, and 23 deaths, bringing the total number of cases and fatalities in the country to 420,632, and 1,574, respectively.

Selangor again led the list with 675 cases, followed by Sarawak, and Johor.