The Immigration Department has released the list of 23 countries whose citizens are barred from entering Malaysia effective today (Sept 7), due to the high prevalence of COVID-19 cases there.

This includes India, Indonesia, the Philippines, and the United States, among others.

In a post put up on its official Facebook page, the department explained that the ban would apply to long-term pass holders from the listed countries - all of which have recorded more than 150,000 COVID-19 cases.

The move to ban people from high risk countries from coming into Malaysia was announced earlier this month.

It will include those who hold Malaysian permanent resident status, participants of Malaysia My Second Home, and expatriates and professional visit pass holders. Spouses of Malaysian citizens and foreign students are also involved.

However, authorities can make exceptions and allow entry for emergency cases and those that involve bilateral relations.

Health director-general Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah had previously expressed concern over a possible spike in imported COVID-19 cases during the winter season abroad.

Check out the full list of countries involved in the travel ban below:

As of noon yesterday, Malaysia has recorded a total of 9,397 COVID-19 cases and 128 deaths.

Globally, the number of COVID-19 cases and deaths have surpassed 27.2 million and 887,000, respectively.

Photo source: Astro Awani