The Sri Lankan government has implemented a temporary waiver of visa fees for tourists from seven countries, including Malaysia, Russia, and China. In a significant development, Sri Lanka's Cabinet has approved the issuance of complimentary visas to travelers from India, China, Russia, Malaysia, Japan, Indonesia, and Thailand. This initiative is effective immediately and has been launched as a pilot project, slated to run until March 31," announced Sri Lankan Foreign Minister Ali Sabry.

This move aligns with earlier statements by Sri Lanka's Tourism Minister Harin Fernando, who expressed the country's intention to eliminate visa fees for tourists from China, Russia, India, Thailand, and Indonesia. The primary objective of this policy shift is to enhance Sri Lanka's appeal to visitors from these nations and work toward the ambitious goal of hosting five million tourists annually in Sri Lanka over the coming years.

Source: FMT